Skip to content

Module Groups

In the Groups module, administrators define system-wide who is allowed to create groups, which rights group managers and learning resource managers receive in the group context, and which data privacy settings apply when members are added to groups and courses.

Navigation

Administration > Modules > Groups

Data privacy

Note that this menu also allows data-protection-related configurations (mandatory notifications) that also apply to courses: See data privacy

Create groups

System administrators and group managers can always create groups. For other roles, this permission can be activated here:

  • Users with no additional role
  • Authors

To the top of the page ^


Groups: assign learning resources

Course owners and group coaches can integrate their own groups into their own courses. The following options extend this right to other roles:

  • Group managers can search all courses and integrate them into groups: comprehensive course access for group managers
  • Learning resource managers can search all groups and integrate them into courses: comprehensive group access for learning resource managers

To the top of the page ^


Data privacy

The data privacy settings apply equally to courses and groups. They control how the system reacts when users are manually added to a course or group. If people enrol themselves, these settings do not apply.

Mandatory email notification on invitation

Defines per role of the inviting person whether an email notification must be sent when manually adding someone to a course or group. If the option is not active for a role, sending the email is optional.

Configurable roles: Users with no additional role, Authors, User managers, Roles managers, Group managers, Learning resource managers, Question bank managers, Course planners, Absence managers, Project managers, Quality managers, Line managers.

Data privacy settings in the Groups module with role lists for mandatory email notification and membership confirmation

Accept or leave membership

Defines per role of the inviting person whether a new membership becomes active immediately or whether the invited person must first accept or decline the request (pending membership).

Pending membership requests appear in the course area, in the group area, and on the course or educational product info page as the notification box "Accept membership requests".

Note

Pending memberships occupy places in the group. If a group has 5 places and 3 people have a pending invitation, only 2 places remain available for enrolment.

Configurable roles: Users with no additional role, Authors, User managers, Roles managers, Group managers, Learning resource managers, Question bank managers, Course planners, Absence managers, Project managers, Quality managers, Line managers.

Example view for a corresponding configuration for a course

Dialog at first login with a pending membership request for a course, options Accept and Decline

Members are allowed to leave the group

This function defines whether members are allowed to leave "their" groups on their own. The setting is defined according to the role of the person who created the group:

  • Group created by a user with no additional role: allow or block leaving
  • Group created by an author: allow or block leaving

To the top of the page ^


Further information

User manual:
Become a group member >
Leave a group >
Membership requests in the Course Planner >

To the top of the page ^