Skip to content

Terms of Use

Which terms of use must be accepted?

When you use OpenOlat or certain elements of it for the first time, you may be required to agree to the terms of use. If this is required by the operating institution or by the owners of a course or other element, various terms of use may be displayed for confirmation.

Terms of use of the OpenOlat platform >

Terms of use of a course >

Terms of use of a form >

Terms of use of external tools >

Note

In addition to the terms of use, data protection provisions may also be displayed and require consent.

Terms of use of the OpenOlat platform

Confirmation by OpenOlat users on first call

When OpenOlat is called up for the first time, all users are asked to confirm the terms of use. If you decline, you return to the login page.

Text of the terms of use with the checkbox for consent, the Print link and the buttons Deny and Accept, in the dialog on the first login on the login page

Define terms of use of the platform

Administrators define the text of the terms of use in the system administration under Administration > Customizing > Imprint. The terms of use can only be stored if the imprint is enabled. A separate text can be created for each activated language.

One button per activated language for storing the terms of use, below the imprint text, on the Imprint page in the Customizing menu of the system administration

Read accepted terms of use

All users can read the terms of use that they have agreed to at any time in their personal menu:
Personal menu > Settings > Tab "Terms of use"

The accepted text of the terms of use with three ticked consent checkboxes and the Print link, in the Terms of use tab of the settings in the personal menu

To the top of the page ^

Terms of use in the course settings

Confirmation by learners in the course

When a course is called up for the first time, a further confirmation of terms of use may be required, because the course owners can define course-specific terms of use for their course, which must be accepted by the participants.

Define terms of use of a course

Course owners create course-specific terms of use for their course under:
Course > Administration > Settings > Tab "Disclaimer"

The text editor is displayed as soon as the "Terms of use" checkbox is ticked. On the same tab, a course-related privacy policy can also be enabled; it has the same structure.

Terms of use enabled, below it the fields Title, Terms with text editor as well as Label checkbox 1 and 2, in the Disclaimer tab of the course settings

In the field "Label checkbox 1" at the bottom of the page, you define which text is displayed to participants next to their checkbox for accepting the terms of use.

In addition, a second checkbox with any descriptive text can be defined for confirmation in the field "Label checkbox 2". If a text is entered, both checkboxes must be confirmed by the participants for the terms of use to be considered accepted. If no descriptive text is entered, the second checkbox is not displayed to the participants.

Field Label checkbox 2 with the example text "Ich willige ein, dass ...", in the Disclaimer tab of the course settings

Activate confirmation request for a course

In order for the terms of use to be displayed, they must be enabled by the course owner. If a text has been entered for the terms of use, it is retained after saving, regardless of whether the display is activated. You can therefore edit inserted terms of use, for example, and then deactivate them until the final version has been created.

Checkbox Enabled next to Terms of use ticked, in the Disclaimer tab of the course settings

Management of the terms of use in the members management

Which course participants have given their consent to the course-specific terms of use is visible to course owners in the members management under:
Course > Administration > Members management > Consents

Entry Members management in the opened Administration menu of the course toolbar

Table of consents with the date per person, one revoked entry struck through, below it the buttons for revoking and deleting, in the Consents area of the members management

  • If a participant declines, the person concerned can be contacted directly.
  • Course owners can revoke selected consents or delete the entries.

Acceptance of terms of use when copying courses

Learning path courses can be copied with the help of a wizard: Course > Administration > Copy with wizard. This wizard can be used to specify which course settings are to be transferred to the copy before the copy process is executed. Among other things, the terms of use can also be copied.

Row Terms of use with the options Customize, Copy and Do not copy, in the Copy options step of the Copy course wizard

To the top of the page ^

Terms of use in forms

Confirmation by learners

When filling out a form, the content entered may also require participants to accept a declaration on the terms of use.

Text of the letter of agreement with the checkbox for consent, in the participant view of a form

Define terms of use of a form

Within the learning resource Form there is the element "Terms of use", which authors insert in the form editor via "Add content". In the element you define the text of the letter of agreement and the label of the checkbox.

Element Terms of use in the group Organisational of the Add content dialog, in the form editor Fields Letter of agreement and Agreement label of the element Terms of use, on the right the inspector with the switch Hint box, in the form editor

To the top of the page ^

Terms of use of external tools

In OpenOlat, external tools are integrated in some places (mostly also open source, but not developed by frentix), for which the conditions must also be accepted before use.

Example draw.io
draw.io is an online tool for creating diagrams that can be used in many places in OpenOlat, e.g. in projects, in the portfolio, in the "Document" course element, in the Media Center and wherever new documents can be created. In draw.io, several people can also work together on a diagram.

To the top of the page ^

Further information

Members management >
Creating learning path courses >
Course Settings >
The Form Editor >
Data protection >
Personal Configuration: Settings >

To the top of the page ^